A new version of the Bahá’í Reference Library is now available. This ‘old version’ of the Bahá’í Reference Library will be replaced at a later date.

The new version of the Bahá’i Reference Library can be accessed here »

The Kitáb-i-Aqdas

  • Author:
  • Bahá’u’lláh

  • Source:
  • Bahá’í World Centre, 1992 edition
  • Pages:
  • 254
Go to printed page GO
Page 188

48. This is that hidden knowledge which shall never change, since its beginning is with nine # 29

In the Arabic Bayán the Báb described His inheritance law as being “in accordance with a hidden knowledge in the Book of God—a knowledge that shall never change or be replaced”. He also stated that the numbers by which the division of the inheritance was expressed had been invested with a significance intended to aid in the recognition of Him Whom God will make manifest.
The “nine” mentioned here is represented in the Arabic text by the letter “Tá”, which is its equivalent in the abjad notation (see Glossary). It is the first element of the Báb’s division of inheritance, where He designates “nine parts” as the share of the children. The significance of nine lies in its being the numerical equivalent of the Greatest Name “Bahá”, alluded to in the next part of this verse as “the concealed and manifest, the inviolable and unapproachably exalted Name”. (See also note 33.)